These two forms look like alternatives and behave like different species. One is sent by a customer, one is sent by a payment processor, and the instructions contain a rule that stops the same payment appearing on both. Most of the confusion around them comes from quoting thresholds that changed, so this page starts with who sends what and then gives the numbers as they read today.
Who Sends Which Form
The 1099-NEC comes from the business that paid you. Its full title is Nonemployee Compensation, and the instructions introduce it as the form a business files for each person it paid in the course of that business for services performed by someone who is not an employee, including parts and materials, reported in box 1a.
The 1099-K comes from the payment processor. The form is filed by a payment settlement entity, the organisation that submits the instruction to transfer funds to your account in settlement of a payment card or third party network transaction. In practice that is the processor or marketplace in the middle: the card network's acquirer, or the platform holding the money before it reaches your bank.
That difference explains most of what follows. Your client knows what they paid you for. The processor knows only that money moved.
The Two Thresholds, and the One That Changed
The 1099-NEC threshold is $2,000, for payments made in 2026. The instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC dated 12/2026 state the rule as file for each person in the course of your business during the year to whom you have paid at least $2,000 in services performed by someone who is not your employee, or payments to an attorney. The What’s New section gives the scope: for tax years beginning after 2025, the minimum threshold for reporting certain payments increased to $2,000, and it may be adjusted for inflation beginning in calendar year 2027. The same document carries the warning that belongs with any threshold change, that these revisions are the ones a payer uses to file 2026 information with the IRS in early 2027 and are not to be used for prior years. A reader settling up for 2025 is measured against the old $600 rule.
One corner of the old figure survives, and it is worth knowing so the change does not get flattened into "everything is $2,000 now". The same instructions still require a form for at least $600 in gross proceeds paid to an attorney, reported in box 10 of the 1099-MISC, while rents, prizes and awards, and other income payments moved onto the $2,000 list. Attorneys therefore sit on both sides of the change: attorney services are reported in box 1a of the 1099-NEC at the new threshold, and gross proceeds to an attorney are still box 10 of the 1099-MISC at $600.
The $20,000 and 200 transaction figure belongs to third-party network payers. The instructions for Form 1099-K, also dated 12/2026, say a third party settlement organization must report payments in settlement of third party network transactions with a participating payee only if, for the calendar year, the gross amount exceeds $20,000 and the number of such transactions exceeds 200. The two minimums attach to that sentence rather than to the form as a whole, because a payment settlement entity files for payment card transactions as well, and that sentence is written for the third-party network side. Which side a platform's payouts fall on is decided by how the money moves, which is the question the guide pages in this series answer for each platform. The IRS announced the reversion in news release IR-2025-107 on 23 October 2025, alongside Fact Sheet 2025-08.
So both numbers moved, in opposite directions, and both moved recently. A page written before late 2025 will have at least one of them wrong, and a page written after it may have the year wrong instead.
The Rule That Keeps Them Apart
This is the sentence worth knowing by heart, from the instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC: payments made with a credit card or payment card and certain other types of payments, including third-party network transactions, must be reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity under section 6050W, and are not subject to reporting on Form 1099-MISC or Form 1099-NEC.
Two consequences follow. A client who pays you by card does not file a 1099-NEC for that payment, so you will not be double-reported for it. And you can still receive both forms in the same year without any overlap, because one client pays by card while another pays by transfer, and the two payments travel through different reporting systems.
For a freelancer who takes card payments and bank transfers, receiving two forms is not a sign that something went wrong. It reflects the two rails the money came in on.
Why the 1099-K Number Is Not Your Income
The 1099-K reports the gross payment amount, and the IRS page on what to do with the form lists exactly what it is not adjusted for: fees, credits, refunds, shipping, cash equivalents and discounts. Its own summary is that these items are not taxable income, and that you can deduct them from the gross amount.
The practical version for a seller: the figure in box 1a includes the platform fee you never saw, the refund you issued in March, and the postage you paid out of pocket. Your income is what remained. The same page notes a second case that surprises people, that cash back paid to customers on debit card transactions is not part of your gross receipts and is not a business expense either, so it should be kept out of both sides of the calculation.
Neither Form Decides What You Owe
The forms are information returns. The obligation comes from the income, and the IRS states the rule in one paragraph: you must report all income you receive on your tax return, which may include the gross payment amount on a 1099-K and amounts on other documents like a 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC, and it should also include amounts not reported on forms at all, such as payments you receive in cash, property, goods or digital assets.
Read that in the other direction and it covers the common worry. Not receiving a form does not make income disappear, and receiving one does not make a non-taxable amount taxable. A payment below the $2,000 threshold is still income, and a refund that inflated a 1099-K is still not.
Where Each One Goes on the Return
For a sole proprietor, both forms feed the same place. The 1099-K guidance says a gig worker, freelancer, hobby seller or other self-employed person is considered a sole proprietor and should report the payment information on Schedule C, Profit or Loss from Business. The recipient instructions printed on the 1099-NEC itself say that if the amount is self-employment income, report it on Schedule C or F.
The rest of the routing, in case the entity is not a sole proprietorship: a partnership reports it on Schedule E, a corporation on Form 1120 or 1120-S, and rental income may go on Schedule E or Schedule C depending on the arrangement.
Who Files When
The deadlines belong to the sender, not to you, but they explain why the forms arrive when they do. The instructions cite section 6071(c) for the 1099-NEC deadline: the payer files it on or before January 31. A 1099-MISC is due by February 28 on paper or March 31 electronically, and the recipient copy of either is furnished by January 31.
So the NEC arrives first, in January, and the K follows. If a form is late or missing, the income still belongs on the return, and the IRS page on the 1099-K includes a section for when the gross amount on the form is incorrect, which starts with checking your own records and asking the filer to correct it.
What Changed for This Filing Year
Beyond the thresholds, the 1099-NEC gained three boxes, all traceable to the same law. P.L. 119-21 section 70201 requires the reporting of cash tips, which the instructions say is why boxes 1b and 13a were added. Section 70202(a) requires the reporting of overtime compensation, which is why boxes 1d and 14 exist. And boxes 1c and 13b carry the Treasury Tipped Occupation Code, used to identify the tipped occupation.
For most freelancers those boxes stay empty. They matter to anyone receiving tips or overtime pay through a 1099-NEC rather than a paycheck, which is a small group and a newly visible one.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the 1099-NEC threshold $600 or $2,000?
The current instructions say $2,000, and the change is recent enough that most summaries still say $600. In the What’s New section of the instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC dated 12/2026, the IRS records an increase in the threshold for payments required to be reported on certain information returns, to $2,000, with an inflation adjustment possible beginning in calendar year 2027. The filing rule itself now reads: file for each person you paid at least $2,000 in services performed by someone who is not your employee. The scope matters as much as the number, and the instructions state it: the increase applies to tax years beginning after 2025, and the document is not to be used for prior years, so a 2025 return is still measured against the $600 rule. The increase is also not universal, because gross proceeds paid to an attorney remain reportable at $600 in box 10 of the 1099-MISC.
Can I get both a 1099-NEC and a 1099-K for the same payment?
Not for the same payment, and the instructions say why. Payments made with a credit card or payment card and certain other payments, including third-party network transactions, must be reported on the 1099-K by the payment settlement entity and are not subject to reporting on the 1099-MISC or the 1099-NEC. So a client who pays you by card will not also send you a 1099-NEC for it. You can still receive both forms in a year, because a business can take card payments through a processor and direct payments from another client at the same time.
The amount on my 1099-K is higher than what I actually earned. What now?
That is normal, and the IRS says so directly: the gross payment amount is not adjusted for fees, credits, refunds, shipping, cash equivalents or discounts, and those items are not taxable income that you can deduct from the gross amount. The form reports what moved through the processor, not what you kept. Check the number against your own records before you put anything on your return.
Does the threshold mean I do not owe tax below it?
No. The thresholds in these instructions govern who has to send a form, not who owes tax. The IRS states the underlying rule plainly: you must report all income you receive on your tax return, and that includes amounts not reported on any form, such as payments you receive in cash, property, goods or digital assets.
Where do these forms go on the return?
For a gig worker, freelancer or other sole proprietor, the IRS says to report the 1099-K payment information on Schedule C, Profit or Loss from Business, and the recipient instructions on the 1099-NEC say to report the amount in box 1 when it is self-employment income on Schedule C or F. Partnerships and corporations route the same information to different forms, listed on the same page.
What changed on the 1099-NEC for this year?
Three new boxes, all traceable to the same law. P.L. 119-21 section 70201 requires the reporting of cash tips, which created boxes 1b and 13a, and section 70202(a) requires the reporting of overtime compensation, which created boxes 1d and 14. Box 1c and 13b carry the Treasury Tipped Occupation Code. If you receive a 1099-NEC this year, the form may look different from the one you filed from last year.
Sources
Every threshold, filing rule and quoted phrase was read from these IRS documents on September 28, 2026.
- Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026), for the $2,000 filing threshold, the What’s New entry on the threshold increase and the 2027 inflation adjustment, the rule that card and third-party network payments are not subject to reporting on the 1099-NEC, the January 31 deadline under section 6071(c), the new tip, overtime and occupation code boxes under P.L. 119-21, and the statement that box 1a amounts are generally subject to self-employment tax
- Instructions for Form 1099-K (12/2026), for the $20,000 and 200 transaction reporting threshold for third party settlement organizations
- IRS, what to do with Form 1099-K, for the list of items the gross payment amount is not adjusted for, the statement that you must report all income including amounts not reported on forms, the Schedule C routing for sole proprietors, and the cash back treatment
- IRS, about Form 1099-K, for the definition of a payment settlement entity, and for the link to news release IR-2025-107 of 23 October 2025 and Fact Sheet 2025-08 recording that the dollar limit reverts to $20,000
- Form 1099-NEC, for box 1a and the recipient instruction to report self-employment income on Schedule C or F
For where both forms land once they reach the return, see Schedule C explained. For the tax the income sets in motion, see self-employment tax explained.